About NCAC


President: Sally M. Kane, Independent Consultant, Washington, D.C., and University of New South Wales, Australia

Secretary: vacant

Councilor: Frank Hearl, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Councilor: Cristina McLaughlin, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Councilor: Tee Guidotti, Medical Advisory Services

USDA Liasion: Linda Abbott, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA ORACBA)



The National Capital Area Chapter of the Society for Risk Analysis was formed in the early 1980s, soon after the formation of the Society for Risk Analysis. Chapter presidents come from a variety of professional backgrounds, including medicine, food safety regulation, law and regulatory policy.

The Chapter continues to build on a strong history of interesting and relevant risk programming, organizing workshops, symposia, and presentations on a wide range of topics. Previous topics include drinking water contamination, toxicology of dietary supplements, and preparedness for terrorism attacks.


Under development.