Fifth World Congress on Risk


Cape Town, South Africa

Event Dates

Monday, 6 May 2019 to Wednesday, 8 May 2019

Society for Risk Analysis
Fifth World Congress on Risk
Theme: "Development and Resilience"
Cape Town International Convention Centre

SRA World Congresses have previously convened in Singapore (2015), Sydney (2012), Guadalajara (2008), and Brussels (2003).  Download a flyer about the Fifth World Congress in 2019.

Abstract Submission

SRA invites the submission of abstracts for presentations at the Fifth World Congress on Risk to be held in Cape Town, South Africa, May 6-8, 2019.

The Fifth World Congress on Risk will focus on “Development and Resilience” and aims to stimulate dialogue and education on risk issues of worldwide interest. SRA welcomes contributions on any topic related to risk assessment, risk characterization, risk perception, risk communication, risk management, risk governance, and policy relating to risk, in the context of risks of concern to individuals, to public and private sector organizations, and to society at a local, regional, national, or global level.

SRA is particularly interested in receiving submissions from outstanding researchers doing work in risk analysis from Africa, Asia, Oceania, Middle East or Latin America and will aim to support their travel to present at the World Congress. The organizing committee welcomes proposals for a variety of session formats: poster-platform presentation, oral presentation and symposium presentation. Abstracts may be submitted online; you will receive an e-mail from SRA acknowledging receipt of your submission. Visit SRA’s website for abstract submission guidelines.

Call for Sponsors

Agencies, corporations, not-for-profits, societies, et al. are invited to co-sponsor and participate in the Congress, in ways most suited to the individual sponsors. A particular need is funding for travel, training, and other expenses of participants from Africa, Asia, Oceania, Middle East, and Latin America. The World Congress offers sponsorship opportunities at several levels – Champion, Supporter, and Friend. Those interested in sponsoring the event should contact the Executive Secretary, Mr. Brett Burk,

Call for Workshops

Proposals for continuing education workshops to take place in coordination with the Congress should be sent to Mr. Brett Burk,

American Society of Civil Engineers

The Infrastructure Resilience Division of the American Society of Civil Engineers is an early sponsor of the World Congress. SRA and ASCE members, including students and young professionals, who are based in emerging market countries have increased priority for awards of travel expenses and registration fees.

Conference Organizers and Advisors

Fifth World Congress Executive Committee
Chair: James H. Lambert; University of Virginia, USA
Co-Chair: Mary Gulumian; National Institute for Occupational Health, Republic of South Africa
Program Chair: Igor Linkov; US Army Corps of Engineers, USA
Finance Chair: Patricia Nance; University of Cincinnati, USA
Local Organizing Chair: Aleksandar Jovanović; Steinbeis Advanced Risk Technologies, Germany

Fifth World Congress Advisory Board
Ortwin Renn, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, e.V., Germany
Robin Cantor, Berkeley Research Group, LLC, USA
Alison C. Cullen, University of Washington, USA
Vally Padayachee, AMEU, PIESA
Jonathan B. Wiener, Duke University, USA
Jo Anne Shatkin, Vireo Advisors, LLC, USA
Myriam Merad, French National Centre for Scientific Research, France
Bilal M. Ayyub, University of Maryland, USA
Rob Davies (Minister for Trade and Industry, Republic of South Africa)
Robert Kressirer (GIZ South Africa Country Director)
Titus Mathe (Director, EPPEI Programme)
Matthias Boddenberg (Director, Southern African–German Chamber of Commerce and Industry)
Representative of German Embassy in South Africa to be announced
Representative of Department of Science and Technology, Republic of South Africa to be announced

Program Committee (Preliminary)
Ben Trump, ORISE/US Army, USA
Charlie Menzie, SETAC
Zach Collier, University of Virginia, USA

Elisabeth Gilmore, Clark University, USA
Greg Kiker, University of Florida, USA
Myriam Merad, French National Centre for Scientific Research, France

Jose Palma Oliveira, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Kanshukan Rajaratnam, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Tshilidzi Marwala, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Christopher Palm, Institute of Risk Management, South Africa

Local Organizing Committee
Amen Xaba (Eskom)
Jacob Malatse (Department of Labour, Republic of South Africa)
Kenneth Nkwana (Director, Sakhumnotho)
Josef Peters (former Director, TÜV Rheinland SA)
Tshifhiwa Nevuwari (Eskom)
Mandla Mthembu (Eskom)
James Nyawera (Engen)
Sam Podile (R-Tech Africa)
Pepe Ntuli (R-Tech Africa)
Vusi Skosana (Technology Innovation Agency)
Nhlanhla Ngidi (SALGA – South African Local Government Association)
Dalila Antunes (Factor Social)

Society for Risk Analysis, Secretariat
Brett Burk, Executive Secretary
Jill Drupa, Director of Administration
Jennifer Rosenberg, Conference Organization